Dostoevsky Bicentenary Events

In 2021, Dostoevsky turns 200. In 2021-22, Dostoevsky Now at the University of Leeds has collaborated with a number of international partners to co-sponsor a series of events to mark Dostoevsky’s bicentenary.

All events will be held online, are free, and are open to the public (with registration).

Details are below and will be updated as they are confirmed.

Wednesday 22 September 2021, 12pm EDT
Public Roundtable: Dostoevsky at 200. The Novel in Modernity
Event page | Recording on YouTube

Wednesday 20 October 2021, 5pm BST (12pm EDT)
Public Talk: Dr Chloe Kitzinger (Rutgers University), “The lives of characters in Dostoevsky and Tolstoy”, hosted by the University of Toronto
Details coming soon | Part of the North American Dostoevsky Society Bicentenary Speaker Series

Thursday 28 October 2021, 5pm BST (12pm EDT)
Panel: Graduate research on Dostoevsky at 200
Call for papers (Deadline 30 September 2021)

Thursday 11 November 2021, Midnight, GMT (7pm EST)
Virtual Birthday Party!
Details and call for creative proposals coming soon

Monday 29 November 2021, 5pm GMT (12pm EST)
Public Roundtable: Dostoevsky, Russia and nationalism in the global era.
Details coming soon

Thursday 9 December 2021, 6pm GMT (1pm EST)
Public Talk: Dr Kate Holland (University of Toronto), “Temporality in Dostoevsky’s imperial imagination”, hosted by the University of Bristol
Details coming soon | Part of the NADS Bicentenary Speaker Series

Friday 28 January 2022, time TBC
Undergraduate research panel
Details and call for papers coming soon

Thank you to organizers Dr Katherine Bowers, Dr Kate Holland, Dr Sarah Hudspith, Dr Katya Jordan and Dr Sarah J Young.

Thank you also to our sponsors without whose support these events would not be possible:

Sponsors logos